WVCTSI Community Engagement and Outreach

Overview of Services

As part of the WVCTSI, the Community Engagement and Outreach (CEO) Program eliminates the "disconnect" between our state's health disparities and the assets available to address those disparities. It serves as “the go to place” for conducting, and rapidly translating community-relevant research to improve the health and well-being of WV and beyond. The Program underscores the significance of interactions among community members, healthcare providers, and researchers, and provides a single organizational structure for all constituents to access for guidance, support, and technical assistance for community engaged research.

The West Virginia Practice-Based Research Network (WVPBRN), part of the Community Engagement and Outreach Core of the WVCTSI, is the first-ever practice-based research network in the state. The mission of the WVPBRN is to improve the health of West Virginians by collaborating with primary care practices to conduct translational practiced-based research. While a developing network, the WVPBRN has already become a multi-site, multi-county entity which is well-positioned to have a significant, positive impact on priority health disparities.

Leadership

Stephenie Kennedy, EdD.
Community Engagement and Outreach Core Chair
304-293-0489
skkennedy@hsc.wvu.edu

A. Brianna Sheppard, PhD, MA.
Community Engagement and Outreach Associate Core Chair
304-293-1444
absheppard@hsc.wvu.edu

 

Location and hours of operation

Hours Location

8 AM - 5 PM

 

 

1 Medical Center Drive
P.O. Box 9102
Morgantown, WV 26506

Links and Resources

  1. WVCTSI Community Engagement and Outreach Website
  2. West Virginia Practice-Based Research Network
  3. WV Project ECHO

Contacts

Name Role Phone Email Location
Stacey Whanger, MPH
WVPBRN Assistant Director
 
304-581-1821
 
swhanger@hsc.wvu.edu
 
Health Sciences Center
 
Jay Mason, MPA
WV Project ECHO Assistant Director
 
304-293-9786
 
jdmason@hsc.wvu.edu
 
Health Sciences Center
 
Traci Jarrett, PhD
Community-Clinic Linkages Liaison
 
304-506-3217
 
tjarrett@hsc.wvu.edu
 
University of Kentucky
 
Jennifer Lukas, MPH
WVPBRN Coordinator
 
304-293-9198
 
jennifer.guess@hsc.wvu.edu
 
Health Sciences Center
 
Mithra Mohtasham, MPA
WV Project ECHO Coordinator
 
304-581-1808
 
mithra.mohtasham@hsc.wvu.edu
 
Health Sciences Center
 
Tracy Sun, MPH
WVPBRN Coordinator
 
304-581-1793
 
tracy.sun@hsc.wvu.edu
 
Health Sciences Center
 

Service list


Search available services: View: by category alphabetically
Patient and Community Engagement (1)
Consultations (1)
Ideas on Deck (1)
Project Development and Success (1)
Project Implementation (1)
Research Translation & Dissemination (1)
WVPBRN Activities (1)
WV Project ECHO (1)